The health and wellbeing of all students at Muddy Creek is very important. Please read through the following topics to better understand how you can help support our efforts to ensure a healthy school environment.
When Should I Keep my Child at Home?
In order to prevent the spread of disease at our school, it is important to make sure that your child is kept home from school if certain symptoms are present. Please read When Should I Keep my Child at Home to determine whether or not you should send your child to school.
Oregon law requires that children enrolled in public school be adequately immunized against diphtheria, tetanus, polio, measles, mumps, rubella, Hepatitis A, Hepatitis B, and varicella.
Per Oregon state law, immunizations are required for enrollment in Corvallis School District schools. Please review the information below to be sure we have accurate information on your child’s immunizations so they may begin school.
- Immunizations are required by state law to be documented on the Certificate of Immunization Status (CIS). If this form is not in your registration packet, it can be picked up from the school office.
- Your child may not begin school without documentation that they meet the minimum requirements. This means that they must have at least one of each required vaccine for their age, or a non-medical exemption on file for each one. Requirements by age/grade are available at the link below.
- If your child previously attended school within the United States, they have a 30-day grace period; immunization records from the previous school must be received within 30 days of enrollment date. If no immunization records are received within that time, your child will be excluded until records are received. You may also complete the Oregon CIS if you know your child’s immunization history.
- If your child previously attended a school outside the United States,
documentation of required vaccines must be received before your child may begin school.
- Immunizations are available through your regular family physician or the Benton County Health Department.
- You may request a non-medical exemption for your child. Please see the link below.
For any immunization related questions, please contact the Corvallis School District nurses. The Oregon Health Authority provides resources for parents. Learn more about frequently asked questions on the OHA website.
- School Vaccination Requirements for all grade levels (2023-24) here: English
- Vacunación Escolar para todos los grados (2023-24) aquí: Español
*Please note that kindergarten students who had a non-medical exemption in preschool or child care are required to have a NEW non-medical exemption certificate in order to start Kindergarten.
The state of Oregon requires annual reporting on school immunization rates within 30 days after the February immunization exclusion day.
Medication at School
Students are allowed to take prescription or non-prescription medication at school or at school-sponsored activities only if necessary for the student to stay in school. Parents may request that school personnel give medicine to their child. The request must be made in writing and must include proper written instructions regarding how and when the medicine should be taken. Please fill out the Medication Authorization Form and return it to the office. The medicine also must be brought to the school in its original container. Medication not picked up within five school days of the end of the medication period or at the end of the school year, will be disposed of by the school.
Dealing with Head Lice
According to current research and management policies from the American Academy of Pediatrics and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, head lice are not considered a health hazard and not responsible for the spread of disease. Research also indicates that the normal classroom environment is not a high risk for the spread of lice.
If a student appears to have symptoms of having head lice, a private screening may be performed by the district nurse or trained staff member. If live head lice or nits are found, the student will be discouraged from close, direct head-to-head contact with others, but may remain in school.
- The student’s parent or guardian will be notified that prompt, effective treatment is necessary.
- The student will be allowed to return to school after being treated and there is no live lice found on inspection.
- It is unlikely that notice would be sent home to all the students in the classroom where an active case of lice is found, unless multiple students are infested. In such a case, parents will be encouraged to check their children for head lice for the next two weeks and treat appropriately.
- School officials will never disclose the name(s) of the affected student(s).
What Parents Can Do
- Teach kids not to share personal grooming items, hairbands, clips, hats, or clothing.
- Store coats, hats, and backpacks separately.
- Ask kids with long hair to pull hair back into a ponytail. Store hair care items separately from each other.
- Do not allow kids to lie down or place their heads on the carpet. Vacuum daily.
- Encourage kids to use their own pillow and blankets.
- Discuss with kids how lice is spread.
- Look around. What items are shared by kids? (headsets, helmets, costumes?)
- Screen suspected head lice case immediately. Note scratching.
- Notify your school and other parents with whom your kids have had contact.
- Recheck (re-screen) at least once a week. Make it a routine personal care